Book Review – Becoming Functional

by trdunsworth

I’ve recently been reading Becoming Functional by Joshua Backfield. As usual, the disclaimer is that I received a copy of the book for free in return for the review.

I was interested in this book, primarily because I have always been of the opinion that some of the code I’ve written for a couple of programs I’ve developed could be better written using a functional model as opposed to the traditional declarative programming model I learned in school. After reading this book, I’ve realized my instincts are better than I thought and that I’m right in that belief.

Mr. Backfield does a very good job stepping the reader through a fictional company where, as a developer, you’re trying to make some of their back end programming more efficient and more responsive to the user. He starts by walking you through the company’s code and then refactoring it step-by-step to more and more functional paradigms. Along the way, he does a good job of explaining functional programming in brief and how factoring the functions can make everything work more efficiently.

When I read the book for review, I only had the first six chapters available, but the chapters on immutable variables and recursion were enough for me to be sufficiently impressed and to have some ideas on where to take my own code. I am certainly going to go back and finish the book and work my way through the code.

Even though the code examples are in Java and Groovy, it’s not difficult to see how to change them over to C# and possibly F#. (For programmers like myself in the ASP.NET world.) With this in mind, it won’t be hard at all to work out the refactoring method by method.

Overall, for an experienced declarative programmer, this is a great introduction and a good guide to adding in functional concepts where they are called for. For less experienced programmers, this is a great way to look at a new paradigm while gaining a good understanding of how it can work in the real world. I heartily recommend the book for anyone interested.

