Decisions decisions

by trdunsworth

Well, I’ve had a few things on my mind recently. I’m still having the deployment problems. I don’t think anyone is surprised to hear that. What disappointed me was taking this to iis.net and to asp.net and having someone at the latter site patiently tell me this was an odp.net problem and that I should take it to Oracle for assistance. Really? This is a deployment problem. On my dev rig, this works perfectly, so I doubt that it is an Oracle failure.

OTOH, I also have been thinking. I like using VS2013 and all of the abilities I can find when I use it. However, I also know that I need to learn to use other text-editors to greater proficiency. I typically use either Sublime or Notepad++ when I’m at the office. They both work well and I’m used to them. However, I used to live in the GNU/Linux – Unix world before I started really trying to learn to program and now that I work as a programmer, I recognize my need to learn the basics, at least, of Vim and Emacs. It’s not really a want to, it’s a need to. It’s just part of programming life. I have worked with Vim a bit in the past as I thought it might be easier than Emacs, but I know future work I want to do will be better done in Emacs. So I need to make a concerted effort to get a good working knowledge of it.

The trick is being able to get over the learning curve and then figuring out what all I can do with it as I learn it. I know that, like anything else in programming, I have a lot of work ahead of me to get over the hump. Back to the mines….

