The more I know…..

by trdunsworth

Well, the next part of the line is “The less I understand.” However, that really isn’t accurate right now. I am understanding more. Not necessarily getting where I want to go, but I’m understanding more. So far, in building the new admin section for the program suite, I’ve been able to get comfortable with a basic MVC program. Really it doesn’t have to do much, it does simple CRUD against the database and I have built custom tables for it to work with. There were a few neat tricks I’ve learned along the way which have made it much prettier. Now my headache is trying to get it deployed on IIS 7.5. I just can’t get it past showing me the front screen at the best I’ve got. Now the latest error is “System.BadImageFormatException: Could not load file or assembly ‘Oracle.DataAccess, Version=4.112.4.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=89b483f429c47342’. This assembly was compiled for a different processor” which implies that, though I matched the odp.net dll to the version which is on the server and is in the GAC, it still is fighting me.

Oh well! Back to the drawing board.

 

Down the road, I want to start implementing more SOLID principles along with Unit Testing and Mocks. It will be more detailed, but just as much fun to learn….

