Goals for 2014

by trdunsworth

Ok, I am going to do this post, along side everyone else who does it at some point around the new year. If you’ve been reading this, you know I do a lot of book reviews. Well, I need to change that a little bit. I need to start writing more about how I’m getting from point A to point B in my career as a professional programmer. At the same time, I have to do what all programmers should do and work on my skills to increase my abilities and my value as a programmer overall. So, with that in mind, I’m setting out a list of goals for 2014 and expecting that I will blog more about it as I go along.

1. Continue my degree course. I’ve been in school so long these days, I’ve become convinced I won’t get out of school. Well, all kidding aside, I’m around midway through my first term at Western Governor’s. I enjoy it and I’m seeing good progress, so I need to get moving faster in my mind. 

2. Learn a new programming language. I’ve heard it said many many times that if you want to get better as a programmer, learn a new language and  preferably something outside your comfort zone. Well, I need to learn two languages for the degree above: Java and Perl. So somewhere in there, I should start getting a jump on things and work my way into this.

3. Rebuild my current codebases. This is a punt as this is already planned for this year. I’m almost done with one site’s re-write and soon I’m going to do the other re-write and then re-do the major project. Really, I’m doing this because I know what I wrote works, but it’s not the cleanest or most efficient way of doing things, so I want to get better and if getting better means doing full re-writes, then so be it.

4. Write more websites. I have a list of sites I could be building or should have built by now, so it’s time to start scratching them off the list and getting stuff done. Take a couple of those sites and use them as portfolio pieces where I can show off, because I already know the customer needs on them and in those cases the customer doesn’t really worry about web presence, so it’s really a playground for me.

5. Blog once a week. Most days, I don’t know if anyone actually ever reads this, but if I want people to read it, I need to write more often. So I’m going to commit to at least one post a week so I can start writing enough to get attention and hopefully keep an audience. It’s my fault that this blog seems to languish at times, so I am the only one who can fix it.

Well, that’s a lot for one programmer this year, so it’s time to get cracking. See you soon!

