Book Review: CSS Fonts

by trdunsworth

I recently completed CSS Fonts by Eric Meyer. As usual, the disclaimer is that I received a copy of the book for free in return for the review. Mr. Meyer is very well known as a CSS expert and I follow his blog and his writing carefully because I feel certain I will learn a new trick here or there. This book most certainly continues with that trend and justified my wanting to review this book.

The book covers one topic and one topic only, fonts and how to use them better with CSS. It is slim, more reminiscent of an O’Reilly Pocket Guide than anything else. However, that is certainly not a statement against this book. In the course of 60 pages, this book covers every font selector in CSS and covered a few that I’d never heard of as well. There were clear explanations for each selector, how to use it, and why you would want to use it. In the end, if the viewer looks at a site I wrote in a Gecko-based browser, then they would see something that could rival anything developed in InDesign.

I’m looking forward to a day when a lot of the tricks I’ve read about in this book are common throughout the major browsers so hand tuning the typography in a website can add a new depth and dimension to any website. This is a fairly recent release and I think this should be in every web developer/designer’s arsenal to start making web typography as elegant as anything which appears in print.

I am going to play with a lot of these ideas in website I build when I get the chance. Buy this book!

