Thoughts about this blog

by trdunsworth

Over the weekend, I read a blog post by Scott Hanselman which asserted that those of us who blog, really don’t blog enough these days. In the comments, some people suggested if you blog and you’ve spent a deal of time working on a problem and solved it, blog about the solution and the research process to help others. I’m guilty of this myself. I started this blog to talk about how I’ve transitioned over the years from someone who liked futzing around on a computer to someone who works with them professionally for a living. You would think, if anyone should be writing that type of blog, it should be me. I spend a lot of time researching various things I want to do with the projects I’m writing. I sort of fell into becoming a programmer and loved it, so why am I not blogging more about what I do and why I do it? I love writing and have become somewhat decent at it, but I don’t do it enough.

Reason 1: Time. I am not only an IT professional who does everything from hardware installation to programming software, I’m also a husband and father and a college student. To me, when I have down time, writing a blog is not my first choice of things to do. Granted, I have the down time between projects, classes, and my wife’s “honey-do” list. She’s really good about that list, by the way. However, I don’t always feel that way when I’m at home and decompressing from my day. So, most accurately, it is not time per se, but time perception. This has taken me a few minutes here and there to get going, but overall, I’m usually very quick about typing out my thoughts. It is the details, like the web links, which take the most time.

Reason 2: Expertise. I am not a great programmer. I’m decent, but not great, so it’s a challenge for me to think that I can add to the digital literature in the same vein as the luminaries I read consistently. The problem with that is, this blog is not designed to be read in that vein. It is for people who are like me, relatively newer to the industry, or people who are interested in getting into it who would like to know what it is like from someone else who is also not as experienced. This is where the learning curve for various things comes in handy. I’m certain that other programmers face the same things I face at times and that’s how I’m learning, so I should start doing the same thing.

If this sounded like I’m knocking down my own excuses, you’re right. That’s exactly what I’m doing. I do this in my coding, when I run into a situation I find out why I can’t do it, then I start working backward to find ways around the problem.

So now comes the attempt to start writing more and hope that turns into something useful somewhere else.

