Learning on the fly?

by trdunsworth

I’m flying by the seat of my pants these days. I can’t say it’s very comfortable or comforting, but I’m slowly getting it, which is more of a relief. I’m building a series of interrelated applications which will allow us to track and broadcast inbound data information to subscribers based on multiple criteria. There are several inherited tables involved, as well as a few we’re building along the way. I realized early on that to do this as efficiently as I could I need an ORM. I know that ODP.NET now supports EF for .NET 3.5 and above, but I don’t feel real comfortable since it’s just a recent release, so I’m sticking with NHibernate which has supported Oracle and ODP.NET for much longer.

My problem with NHibernate, Fluent, and/or Castle Project’s Active Record is that the documentation has been written to the level of programmers much better and much more skilled than I. The basic tutorials are a little too basic, and I feel I’m falling through the cracks of my own ignorance. So here’s a snapshot of my learning experience to see if this may turn, yet, into a tutorial of my own writing, or at least helpful notes for another in my position down the road.

I’ve tried, using each book and tutorials methods, various forms for class construction and mapping. By far, I like Active Record the best. I am able to add the mapping into the class file and make it all in one fail swoop. It also looks to have one of the easier initializations. Of course, I still haven’t pulled the ISessionFactory yet to ensure that the first of the proggies will do what it’s designed to do. This one is the one which will read from the databases and populate a temp table which should also be populated from an external agency and then all of it will be read every three minutes into another table where the logic program will evaluate the rows to see which ones need to be mailed to users and which ones will be ignored and later dropped from the table. This proggie will also be the one which reads the tables and drop rows as needed.

I still need to do a lot of reading and study, but I believe NHibernate is my best option. I also think I will get this as I keep working on it.

