Book Review – HTML5 Canvas, 2nd Edition

by trdunsworth

I recently read HTML5 Canvas, 2nd Edition by Steve Fulton and Jeff Fulton. As usual, the disclaimer is that I received a copy of the book for free in return for the review. In this case, I am very glad that I was able to read and review this book. I’m not a designer, I know enough about Illustrator and Photoshop to be dangerous, I’m a programmer by comfort level, so this book is really geared for me.

Most of the book is centered on Javascript and how to leverage that to create some very interesting experiences with the canvas element. A lot of the book is focused on game development, which with today’s programming trends, makes a lot of sense. However they also do an excellent job covering audio and video inside a canvas element as well. Overall, the book does an excellent job with building up from the absolute basics to some very advanced effects.

My only criticism of the book would be that there is, strangely, too much code. In many of the chapters, when they build on the code, you not only get the new additions ,but then they give you the entire code with the new additions. In one chapter that meant 16 different examples which were all built on each other. I am more accustomed to tech books which tell you to replace or insert the new code at a particular point and then move on. I know this is a style choice, but to me, it makes the book easier to get through.

However, that really is my only criticism. The book is well-written, explains the concepts thoroughly, and the ebook versions link you to the libraries they use throughout the programming to make it simpler for you to follow along. By the end, I felt like I understood the subject. I would certainly suggest that anyone reading this book have a good grasp of Javascript before they start. There is no unnecessary hand-holding to bring you up to speed. You’re expected to know the material, which is a positive to my mind, and then go farther with their information.  By the time you finish the book, you will go far indeed!!!

HTML5 Canvas, 2nd Edition is a good book and well worth the price if you want to have a lot of fun seeing what you can do with the canvas element.

