Review–Learning JavaScript Design Patterns Addy Osmani O’Reilly Press

I’m back with my book reviews and in this case, it’s Addy Osmani’s newest book from O’Reilly Press: Learning JavaScript Design Patterns. Being honest, I read Addy’s blog pretty regularly, so I knew what to expect from this book before I got started reading it.

However, having said that, I was surprised myself about the amount of detail in the book. The first thing I have to say is if you want to read this, you had better be very comfortable with your JavaScript skills. Mr. Osmani is a master of JavaScript and this is not a book for learning JavaScript from scratch. Do not misunderstand me please, it is excellently written and highly technical, it’s just not for a beginner.

He takes apart most of the “Gang of Four” design patterns which have been used successfully for years and shows each of them in a JavaScript light which, for me, was incredible for ideas on things for which I either am working on or will be working on soon. Each code example is well commented (reminding me of my own shortcomings in that area at times.) and after two or three of them, I was following the code structures quickly enough to be able to anticipate why the code was so structured and where I could make use of similar patterns in my own projects.

What I appreciated the most was the second half of the book where he examines JQuery design patterns and how they can be applied in plug-ins and in production code. Again, with excellent comments all over the board, I could see the structures unfold in front of me and the book is excellently referenced so you can follow up with tons of content to support his work and to extend your own ideas.

If you are a serious developer, or if you are a dedicated hobbyist who wants to really grok code better, make this a staple on your ebook shelf. (I’m certain the print version is just as good, but with all the hyperlinks within the book, I love the ebook version myself!) Then again, I would also suggest subscribing to Addy’s blog too. It is filled with fantastic information and he has a few other gems there for everyone at various skill levels.

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Review–Learning JavaScript Design Patterns Addy Osmani O’Reilly Press
  1. Fantastic web site. A lot of useful info here.
    I’m sending it to some friends ans additionally sharing in delicious. And obviously, thanks in your effort!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 895 other followers

